to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Chile

Chile – Where fortune came from tragedy

Wine-growing in Chile was born less out of economic reasons than lifestyle. Like the rest of the world, its aristocratic landowners admired everything that came out of France. They imitated French culture, built their haciendas in French architectural styles, and took trips to France. In 1851, the first French vines were brought back and formed the basis for producing quality wines.

White wines from Chile

In Stock
Chardonnay Reserva
Vegan
In Stock
Chardonnay Reserva
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Sauvignon Blanc
Vegan

Sauvignon Blanc

DO, Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 19.80

Red wines from Chile

In Stock

Almaviva

Rothschild / Concha y Toro, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 155.–
In Stock
Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva
Vegan
In Stock
Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva
Vegan
In Stock
Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva
Vegan

The history of Chilean wine production, however, dates back to the 16th century, and begins with the continent’s conquest by Europeans. The Spanish reached the Andean country with vines in their cargo.

The monks were particularly impressed by the País variety, and they cultivated it diligently. Officially, this was to guarantee the inventory of sacramental wine (the País variety is also called Mission for this reason). The monks nonetheless very quickly recognized that selling the wines they pressed would provide a lucrative source of income.

In addition, land was allocated to settlers on condition that they planted vines there within a year – if not, the property was revoked.

Chilean grapes and the sea

Chile is a very long, very narrow country. Thus all of its wine regions lie close the Pacific, and the Humboldt Current, a cold ocean current off the west coast of South America, named after the German naturalist Alexander von Humboldt. 

But apart from this, the geological and meteorological conditions in the valleys around Santiago are ideal. The settlers quickly found that the soils were particularly productive. In addition, there was more than enough fallow cropland available.

Phylloxera – A stroke of luck

With time, the yields of the vines, and the quality of their wines, continually improved. Chile thus became a serious competitor in the international wine world.

Phylloxera also lent a hand. The louse destroyed a large part of the European vine stock between 1867 and 1915, leading to a dramatic decline in European wine production. Chile was unaffected, however, to the great benefit Chilean vintners.

In the late 19th century, far more wine was produced than drunk in the country, and thus the search for new markets began. The search was successful, and today Chilean wine is appreciated throughout the world.

Countries

Switzerland

Switzerland

Switzerland – A small country with enormous diversity

Read more
Australia

Australia

Australia – A rapid rise to the international elite.

Read more
Germany

Germany

Germany – Into the elite the hard way

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Chile

Chile - wo aus einer Katastrophe Glück entstand

Der Weinbau in Chile entstand weniger aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen sondern vielmehr aus einem Lebensstil heraus. Die adligen Grossgrundbesitzer bewunderten, wie auch der Rest der Welt, einfach alles, was aus Frankreich stammte. Die französische Kultur wurde gelebt, die Hazienden wurden nach französischen Architekturstilen gebaut und man reiste nach Frankreich. Im Jahre 1851 wurden von einer dieser Reisen die ersten französischen Rebstöcke mitgebracht: womit die Basis für Qualitätsweinbau geschaffen wurde.

Die Geschichte des chilenischen Weinbaus reicht jedoch bereits bis in das 16. Jahrhundert zurück und beginnt mit der Eroberung Südamerikas durch die Europäer. Die Spanier erreichten den Andenstaat mit heimischen Rebstöcken im Gepäck.

Die Mönche waren besonders von der Sorte País angetan und kultivierten diese fleissig. Offiziell, um den Bestand an Messwein sicherzustellen (die Sorte País wird deswegen auch Mission genannt). Die Mönche erkannten allerdings sehr schnell, dass der Verkauf ihrer gekelterten Tropfen eine nützliche und lukrative Geldquelle darstellte.

Zudem wurde – an eine gewisse Bedingung geknüpft – Land an Siedler vergeben. Diese Bedingung war, innerhalb eines Jahres das Land mit Reben zu bestocken – ansonsten wurde ihnen das Grundstück wieder entzogen.

Die chilenische Reben und das Meer

Chile ist ein unglaublich langes, sehr schmales Land. So befinden sich auch alle Weinregionen in der Nähe des Pazifiks und des Humboldtstroms (der Humboldtstrom ist eine kalte Meeresströmung an der Westküste Südamerikas, benannt nach dem deutschen Naturforscher Alexander von Humboldt).

Doch auch sonst sind die geologischen und meteorologischen Voraussetzungen in den Tälern rund um Santiago ideal. Schon in den Anfängen des Weinbaus stellte sich heraus, dass die Böden dort ganz besonders fruchtbar sind. Zudem stand mehr als genug braches Ackerland zur Verfügung.

Die Reblaus – ein Glücksfall

Im Verlauf der Geschichte entwickelten sich die Erträge der Reben sowie die Qualität der Weine stetig und Chile wurde in der internationalen Weinwelt zu einem ernstzunehmenden Mitbewerber.

Hilfreich war auch die Reblaus, welche zwischen 1867 und 1915 einen grossen Teil der europäischen Rebbestände vernichtete. Dies führte zu einem dramatischen Rückgang der europäischen Weinproduktion. Um Chile hatte die Reblaus jedoch einen Bogen gemacht – was den chilenischen Winzern natürlich sehr dienlich war.

Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde weit mehr Wein produziert, als im Lande getrunken wurde und so machte man sich auf die Suche nach neuen Absatzmärkten. Die Suche war erfolgreich und heute wird chilenischer Wein auf der ganzen Welt geschätzt.

Weissweine aus Chile

Chardonnay Reserva
Vegan
Parker 89 Punkte
Sauvignon blanc
Vegan

Sauvignon blanc

DO, Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 19.80
Parker 89 Punkte
Sauvignon blanc
Vegan

Sauvignon blanc

DO, Leyda Valley, Amayna, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 19.80
Sauvignon blanc Reserva
Vegan

Roséweine aus Chile

Rosé Syrah/Pinot noir Reserva
Vegan

Rotweine aus Chile

Almaviva

Rothschild / Concha y Toro, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 119.–

Almaviva

Rothschild / Concha y Toro, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 133.–
Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva
Vegan

Länder

Argentinien

Argentinien

Argentinien - wo die Nostalgie mit der Innovation Tango tanzt

Weiterlesen
Portugal

Portugal

Portugal – viel mehr als Port

Weiterlesen
Schottland

Schottland

Schottland - wilde Geschichte, wohltuender Whisky

Weiterlesen