to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Languedoc-Roussillon

Languedoc and Roussillon: the wine-giant of the south

The largest contiguous wine region of France begins on the west bank of the Rhône River, stretching more than 240 kilometres to the west to Banyuls-sur-Mer, on the border with Spain. The area is an inexhaustible reservoir of corpulent wines from international varieties, but the top crus from this region come from various regional appellations, where long-established varieties such as Carignan and Grenache (red) and Picpoul and Bourboulenc (white) yield extraordinarily characterful wines.

White wines from Languedoc-Roussillon

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Vino Erotico blanc
Vegan
In Stock

Red wines from Languedoc-Roussillon

In Stock
In Stock
In Vino Erotico rouge
Vegan
In Stock
In Vino Erotico rouge
Vegan
In Stock

Merlot Côté Sud

VdT, Grès Saint Paul, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 27.–

Superficially, Languedoc-Roussillon is a huge wine region, in which impressive volumes of crops with strong, fruity fullness and Mediterranean charm grow on more than 250,000 hectares. Upon closer inspection, the area – which is often simply called “Midi” – emerges as a highly complex jigsaw of different appellations producing wines with distinctive character.

The basis for this diversity of wines is the completely distinct soil types. Thus, slate soils shape the wines in Banyuls, Maury, Corbières, Minervois and Saint-Chinian, while gravel debris and limestone soils with crushed stone characterize the terroirs of Rivesaltes, Minervois and the Costières de Nimes Near the coast, on the other hand, alluvial soils dominate. The Mediterranean climate, too, is not nearly as uniform as one might expect. In particular, the vineyards in the interior are affected by the Tramontane – a strong, cool autumn wind which contributes, among others, to the robust structure of the wines of Corbières.

The new range of varieties

At the same time, however, the area is a tremendous source of corpulent everyday wines which often come to market under the Pays d’Oc IGP designation. These wines, produced in vast quantities by large wineries, are often vinified from varieties not typical of the area, such as Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc, Syrah or Viognier. The term Pays d’Oc alludes to the Occitan language, which is still spoken in this part of France today.

Independent wines

With an average yearly temperature of 14 degrees Celsius, Languedoc-Roussillon is the warmest region in France. Additionally, the average rainfall of 400 millimetres per year per square metre is quite low. Because the vineyards are spread over a vast area, monocultures are the exception. The garrigue, the typical Mediterranean shrub heathland, mainly provides an ecological compensation area. These factors favour the cultivation of natural or organically produced wines. The area produces a whole range of noteworthy specialties: the Blanquette de Limoux is a characterful sparkling wine based on the Mauzac grape; the Picpoul de Pinet grown near the sea yields surprisingly crisp white wines; and appellations such as Minervois, La Clape, Faugères or Saint-Chinian are guarantors of red wines that are full of character.

Regions

Mosel
Germany

Mosel

Mosel: in Riesling territory

Read more
Sicilia
Italy

Sicilia

Sicily: more than a wine island

Read more
Bourgogne
France

Bourgogne

Burgundy: home of the crus

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Languedoc-Roussillon

Languedoc und Roussillon: Der Weingigant im Süden

Das grösste zusammenhängende Weinbaugebiet Frankreichs beginnt am westlichen Ufer der Rhône und zieht sich über 240 Kilometer in westlicher Richtung bis nach Banyuls-sur-Mer an der Grenze zu Spanien. Das Gebiet ist ein unerschöpfliches Reservoir von fülligen Weinen aus internationalen Sorten, doch die Spitzencrus dieser Region stammen aus verschiedenen Regional-Appellationen, in denen alteingesessenen Sorten wie Carignan und Grenache (rot) sowie Picpoul oder Bourboulenc (weiss) ausserordentlich charaktervolle Weine ergben.

Oberflächlich betrachtet ist Languedoc-Roussillon ein riesiges Weinbaugebiet, in dem auf mehr als 250‘000 Hektar beeindruckende Mengen von Gewächsen mit grosser Fruchtfülle und mediterranem Charme entstehen. Bei genauer Betrachtung entpuppt sich das Gebiet, das oft auch einfach «Midi» genannt wird, als ein hochkomplexes Puzzle aus verschiedenen Appellationen, in denen Weine mit eigenständigem Charakter entstehen.

Die Basis für diese Weinvielfalt sind völlig verschiedene Bodentypen. So prägen Schieferböden die Weine in Banyuls, Maury, Corbières, Minervois und Saint-Chinian, während Kiesgeröll oder Kalksteinböden mit Schotter die Terroirs von Rivesaltes, Minervois oder den Costières de Nimes prägen. In der Nähe der Küste dominieren dagegen Schwemmlandböden. Auch das mediterrane Klima ist längst nicht so einheitlich, wie man annehmen würde. Besonders die Rebberge im Landesinnern liegen im Einflussbereich des Tramontana, eines starken, kühlen Fallwindes, der unter anderem den Weinen von Corbières zu ihrer kernigen Struktur verhilft.

Die neue Sortenvielfalt

Gleichzeitig ist das Gebiet aber auch eine gewaltige Quelle von fülligen Alltagsweinen, die oft unter der Bezeichnung IGP Pays d’Oc auf den Markt kommen. Diese in gewaltigen Mengen von Grosskellereien produzierten Weine werden aus nichts ortstypischen Sorten wie Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc, Syrah oder Viognier gekeltert. Der Begriff Pays d’Oc spielt auf die okzitanische Sprache an, die in diesem Teil Frankreichs noch immer gesprochen wird.

Eigenständige Weine

Languedoc-Roussillon ist mit einer mittleren Jahrestemperatur von 14 Grad Celsius die wärmste Region in Frankreich, zudem ist die Niederschlagsmenge von durchschnittlich 400 Millimeter pro Jahr und Quadratmeter ausgesprochen gering. Weil sich die Rebberge über ein riesiges Gebiet verteilen, sind Monokulturen die Ausnahmen. Meistens sorgt die Garrigue, die typische mediterrane Strauchheidelandschaft für eine willkomme ökologische Ausgleichsfläche. Diese Faktoren begünstigen den Anbau von naturnah oder kontrolliert biologisch produzierten Weinen. Das Gebiet bringt eine ganze Reihe von bemerkenswerten Spezialitäten hervor: Der Blanquette de Limoux ist ein charaktervoller Schaumwein auf Basis der Mauzac-Traube, der in Meeresnähe angebaute Picpoul de Pinet ergibt überraschend frische Weissweine und Appellationen wie Minervois, La Clape, Faugères oder Saint-Chinian sind Garanten für charaktervolle Rotweine.

Weissweine aus Languedoc-Roussillon

In Vino Erotico blanc
Vegan
Sauvignon blanc Vin de Pays d'Oc
Nur noch 1 Flasche

Rotweine aus Languedoc-Roussillon

Regionen

Campania
Italien

Campania

Kampanien: Auf den Spuren der Römer

Weiterlesen
Burgenland
Österreich

Burgenland

Burgenland: Rote, süsse und andere Wunder

Weiterlesen
Tessin
Schweiz

Tessin

Tessin: Das Merlot-«Mekka» der Schweiz

Weiterlesen