to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Nyetimber

For the last quarter-century, England has played a very special role in the world of wines – an exotic in moist and chilly northern Europe.

When you think of England you might think of umbrellas, charm, and bowler hats. Specifically umbrellas, since British weather is famously rainy. Few people know that winegrowing in England is historically documented back to the 7th century. Thanks to the Gulf Stream, the climate is mild enough for certain types of grapes to grow and fully ripen. The change in climate during recent decades has brought some advantages to English winemakers, improving growth conditions and encouraging many to try their luck at winegrowing.

Nyetimber was founded as a winery in 1988. However, the estate is much older; it was first mentioned in the Domesday Book (a famous land registry) in 1086. Embedded in the peaceful green landscape of West Sussex, with its carefully restored medieval buildings and houses, Nyetimber is a small gem that can transfer us into a far distant era.

Nyetimber was the first winery in England to grow champagne grape varieties such as Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Pinot Meunier, all with the aim of producing the best English sparkling wine through respecting the “méthode traditionnelle”. In the early 1990s, the first bottle left the winery and even beat some champagnes in various competitions.

The winegrowers Cherie Spriggs and her husband Brad Greatrix, both with international experience, have been responsible for all steps of the wine production since 2007. 170 hectares of grapes grow on eight different south-facing sites in Sussex and Hampshire on precious chalk soil similar to that found in the Champagne. Ever since the couple arrived at Nyetimber, they have worked to improve production processes. The inventory of reserve wines was and will be increased on a regular basis in order to create a non-vintage Classic Cuvée according to the Champagne model. At the other end of the production line is the Tillington Single Vineyard, the first English vintage sparkling wine from a single vineyard. A Rosé Non-Vintage and a Blanc de Blancs that will only be bottled during the best Chardonnay years, supplement this extraordinary sparkling wine experience.

Sparkling wines from Nyetimber

In Stock
Nyetimber 1086 rosé
Vegan
In Stock
Nyetimber 1086
Vegan
In Stock
Nyetimber brut Rosé Non Vintage
Vegan
In Stock
Nyetimber Cuvee Chérie Demi Sec
Vegan

Producers

Supernatural Wine Co.

Supernatural Wine Co.

For the curious, the cosmopolitan, the devotees of organic and bio-dynamic principles, and most certainly for wine-fanatics: Our novelty from Hawke’s Bay in New Zealand is exceptional, exciting, and always leads to exhilarating discourse.

Read more
Bodegas Vega Sindoa

Bodegas Vega Sindoa

The vineyards for the Vega Sindoa wines are in the heart of Navarre, in the Valle de Nekeas, the valley where the wine lives, as the locals say. The 6th leg of the pilgrim’s path to Santiago de Compostela leads through this charming hilly landscape, where wine has been grown for centuries.

Read more
Son Mayol

Son Mayol

This new bodega lies not far away from the lively city of Palma, and – we are convinced of this – will come to set new standards on Majorca.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Nyetimber

In der Welt der Weine nimmt England seit rund 25 Jahren eine ganz besondere Stellung ein – ein Exot im feuchtkühlen Norden Europas.

Wer an England denkt, denkt vielleicht an Schirm, Charme und Melone. Schirm vor allem, da das Wetter auf den Britischen Inseln eher von Wolken und Regen geprägt ist. Wenige wissen, dass Weinbau in England seit dem 7. Jahrhundert historisch belegt ist. Das Klima ist dank dem Golfstrom mild genug, um bestimmte Rebsorten gedeihen und ausreifen zu lassen. Der Klimawandel der letzten Jahrzehnte hat für die englischen Winzer einige Vorteile gebracht, die Wachstumsbedingungen verbessert und viele dazu ermuntert, sich im Weinbau zu versuchen.

Schaumweine von Nyetimber

In Stock
Nyetimber brut Classic Cuvee
Vegan
In Stock
Nyetimber brut Classic Cuvee
Nur noch 9 Flaschen
Vegan
In Stock
Nyetimber 1086 rosé
Vegan

Nyetimber 1086 rosé

Sussex, English Sparkling Wine, 2010, 750 ml

Nyetimber wurde als Weingut 1988 gegründet. Das Anwesen ist jedoch viel älter; es ist im sogenannten Domesday Book (eine Art Grundbuch) von 1086 erwähnt. Eingebettet in der friedlichen grünen Landschaft von West Sussex mit ihren sorgfältig renovierten mittelalterlichen Gebäuden, ist es ein kleines Juwel, das uns in ein fernes Zeitalter zu versetzen vermag.

Als erstes Weingut in England wurde es mit den Champagner-Traubensorten Chardonnay, Pinot Noir und Pinot Meunier bepflanzt mit dem Ziel, den besten englischen Sparkling nach der traditionellen Methode zu keltern. Einen, der besser als viele andere Schaumweine der Welt sein sollte – Champagner mit eingeschlossen. Anfang der 1990er Jahre verliess die erste Flasche den Keller und konnte in Wettbewerben einige Champagner mit bewundernswertem Erfolg schlagen.

Seit 2007 sind die Weinmacher Cherie Spriggs und Ehemann Brad Greatrix, beide mit internationaler Erfahrung, verantwortlich für alle Belange der Produktion. 170 Hektaren Reben wachsen auf acht verschiedenen Südlagen in Sussex und Hampshire auf den gleichen wertvollen Kreideböden wie in der Champagne. Seit seiner Ankunft in Nyetimber hat das Paar kontinuierlich an der Qualität in allen Produktionsprozessen gefeilt. Auch wurde und wird der Stock an Reserveweinen regelmässig vergrössert, um nach Champagnervorbild die Classic Cuvée ohne Jahrgang kreieren zu können. Die Classic Cuvée ist die Botschafterin Nyetimbers – der Signature Wine. Am anderen Ende der Produktelinie steht Tillington Single Vineyard, der erste englische Jahrgangsschäumer aus einer Einzellage. Ein Rosé Non Vintage und ein Blanc de Blancs, der allerdings nur in den besten Chardonnay-Jahren abgefüllt wird, ergänzen dieses aussergewöhnliche Schaumweinerlebnis.
 

Erfahren Sie in diesem Video mehr über Nyetimber: Master Class Series: Brad Greatrix (Winemaker) und Marc Almert (Chef Sommelier Baur au Lac und Baur au Lac Vins und ASI Best Sommelier of the World 2019)

Winzer

Bodegas Vega Sindoa

Bodegas Vega Sindoa

Die Weinberge für die Vega Sindoa Weine befinden sich im Herzen Navarras, im Valle de Nekeas, dem Tal, wo der Wein wohnt, wie die Einheimischen sagen. Die 6. Etappe des Pilgerwegs nach Santiago de Compostela führt entlang dieser lieblichen, hügeligen Landschaft, wo seit Jahrhunderten Weinbau betrieben wird.

Weiterlesen
Pievalta

Pievalta

Das Weingut Pievalta befindet sich in der Gemeinde Maiolati Spontini, in den Marken, im Herzen der Castelli di Jesi. Es ist eine Region, welche für seine kleinen, ummauerten mittelalterlichen Dörfer und für die Herstellung von Weinen aus Verdicchio-Trauben bekannt ist.

Weiterlesen
Roland und Karin Lenz

Roland und Karin Lenz

Noch während des Önologiestudiums von Roland Lenz konnten er und seine Frau Karin 1994 acht Hektaren Weinreben am Iselisberg übernehmen. Es war eine einmalige Gelegenheit, die sie am Schopf packten, obwohl die beiden mit dem Gedanken spielten, sich im Ausland, weit weg von der Schweiz, selbständig zu machen. Das taten sie zwar später auch, aber das ist eine andere Geschichte.

Weiterlesen