to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Villa Caviciana

When, in the early morning, the sun slowly rises over the glittering mirror-smooth water of the Bolsena Lake, and the first blaring of the sheep, the quiet meowing of the domestic cat and the cheerful chirping of birds break the peaceful silence, then one understands that some people have found here their paradise on earth. Away from the big mass tourism of the coast, only an hour's drive away, in still largely intact nature, the lake spreads out in the charming hilly landscape, sometimes calm, sometimes foaming up, wild like the sea.

Before the Romans, Lazio was the land of the Etruscans. Time and again one comes across contemporary witnesses of that culture. The name Caviciana is derived from the ancient Etruscan name of the area where the vines grow today. The sphinx that adorns the name is a delicate Etruscan sculpture found in the surrounding caves. It stands for immortality.

White wines from Villa Caviciana

In Stock
Filippo
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Filippo

IGT Lazio bianco, Villa Caviciana, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 19.–

Rosé wines from Villa Caviciana

In Stock
Tadzio
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Tadzio

IGT Lazio rosato, Villa Caviciana, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 16.–

Red wines from Villa Caviciana

In Stock
Eleonora
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Eleonora

IGT Lazio rosso, Villa Caviciana, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 19.–
In Stock
Letizia
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Letizia

IGT Lazio rosso, Villa Caviciana, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 31.–
In Stock
Anna
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Anna

Vino rosso, Villa Caviciana, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 12.50
In Stock
Anna
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Anna

Vino rosso, Villa Caviciana, 2016, 1500 ml
CHF 28.80

Sweet wines from Villa Caviciana

In Stock
Maddalena dolce
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Maddalena dolce
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Maddalena dolce
Only 1 Bottle
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Delicatessen from Villa Caviciana

In Stock
Olio Extra Vergine di Oliva
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Olio Extra Vergine di Oliva

Villa Caviciana, 250 ml
CHF 12.50

The almost circular Lake Bolsena is a collapsed volcanic crater (150 metres deep!) located in the Lazio region (approx. 90 kilometres north of Rome), which adjoins Tuscany and Umbria. Mocca and Fritz Metzeler came here in the 1990s during a trip through Italy. The grandiose landscape fascinated them and became their retreat, their little paradise for the holidays. Gradually they acquired land, olive trees, vines and animals. Today, the estate covers 140 hectares on the northern shore of the lake, 20 of which are planted with vines. 6000 olive trees, several hundred mangalitsa wool pigs and a herd of ragged sheep. The entire estate has been certified organic since 2006 and, with around 20 employees, is one of the largest employers in the Viterbo region.

The Swiss Daniel Eigenheer is responsible for the vineyard and wine sectors. The first vines were planted in 2002: the autochthonous Sangiovese and Aleatico, the international varieties Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc as well as the Tannat, which seems exotic in this area and comes from the south of France. The Mediterranean climate with hot summers and not too cold winters benefits these grape varieties, which ripen mainly late. The vineyards are situated at an altitude of 350 to 550 metres above sea level with a view of the lake. In summer, there is always a pleasant wind blowing from the Mediterranean, which dries the grapes quickly after the rain and soothes the heat. In the winter months, the Tramontana blows cold from the north. Hail can sometimes cause great damage. These favourable climatic conditions facilitate the careful and environmentally conscious care according to biological guidelines. The tuff, sand and loess loam soils are of volcanic origin.

The harvest at Villa Caviciana starts in August with the Aleatico for the fresh Rosé Tadzio and ends in October with the Aleatico for the sweet wine Maddalena. However, it is not allowed to rain, because otherwise the fruits drying on the plant would rot very quickly. The hand-picked grapes are brought to the winery in small crates. The modern, simple yet striking building was built from local tuff - the traditional building material - and blends harmoniously into the landscape. The design of the building is based on careful vinification according to the principle of gravity, so that coarse pumping can be avoided. Only own grapes are processed. All wines are vegan. They have already won several medals at the International Organic Wine Award.

The names of the wines have their roots in German poets, writers and painters who travelled and loved Italy. They represent the cultural bridge between Italy and Germany. Filippo Miller was Goethe's pseudonym during his trip to Italy; Faustina was his Italian mistress, but her christening was Maddalena. Letizia is a mistress from Heinrich Heine's work "Die Bäder von Lucca" and Eleonora reminds us of the actress Eleonora Duse, with whom Rainer Maria Rilke fell in love. Anna Risi also knew how to seduce the painter Feuerbach with her beauty. Tadzio, finally, is the beautiful young man from Thomas Mann's novella "Death in Venice".

Producers

Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

The history of this Bodega is a prime example of those who do not let themselves be led astray, consistently and persistently go their own way, remain faithful to their convictions and who then reap the well-deserved success.

Read more
San Patrignano

San Patrignano

Between Rimini and San Marino, not far from the loud and lively beaches of the Adriatic Sea, lies San Patrignano. This rather unconventional village with between 1600 and 2000 inhabitants was founded in 1978 by Vincenzo Muccioli and like-minded people with the aim of offering young people in need a new future through work and vocational training.

Read more
Peter Michael Estate

Peter Michael Estate

In the 1970s, Sir Peter Michael came to California as a young engineer and discovered the emerging wine world of California, with some excellent names already drawing international attention.

Read more

Villa Caviciana

Wenn frühmorgens die Sonne über dem Bolsenasee langsam aufgeht, das spiegelglatte Wasser tausendfach glitzert und sich die friedliche Stille mit dem ersten Blöken der Schafe, dem leisen Miauen der Hauskatze und dem fröhlichen Vogelgezwitscher verabschiedet, dann versteht man, dass hier einige Menschen ihr Paradies auf Erden gefunden haben. Abseits vom grossen Massentourismus der Küste, die nur eine gute Stunde Fahrt entfernt liegt, in noch weitgehend intakter Natur, breitet sich der See in der anmutigen Hügellandschaft aus, mal ruhig, mal wild wie das Meer aufschäumend.

Vor den Römern war Latium das Land der Etrusker. Immer wieder stösst man auf Zeitzeugen jener Kultur. Der Name Caviciana lehnt sich an den alten etruskischen Namen der Gegend an, in der heute die Reben wachsen. Die Sphinx, die den Namenszug ziert, ist eine zierliche etruskische Skulptur, welche in den umliegenden Höhlen gefunden wurde. Sie steht für Unsterblichkeit.

Weissweine von Villa Caviciana

In Stock

Filippo 2020

IGT Lazio bianco, Villa Caviciana, 750 ml
In Stock

Filippo 2019

IGT Lazio bianco, Villa Caviciana, 750 ml

Roséweine von Villa Caviciana

In Stock

Tadzio 2018

IGT Lazio rosato, Villa Caviciana, 750 ml

Rotweine von Villa Caviciana

In Stock

Anna 2017

IGT Lazio, Villa Caviciana, 1500 ml
In Stock

Anna 2017

IGT Lazio, Villa Caviciana, 750 ml
In Stock

Eleonora 2012

IGT Lazio rosso, Villa Caviciana, 12000 ml
In Stock

Anna 2016

Vino rosso, Villa Caviciana, 1500 ml

Süssweine von Villa Caviciana

In Stock

Delikatessen von Villa Caviciana

In Stock

von Villa Caviciana

In Stock

Tadzio 2018

IGT Lazio rosato, Villa Caviciana, 750 ml
In Stock

Anna 2017

IGT Lazio, Villa Caviciana, 750 ml
In Stock

Filippo 2020

IGT Lazio bianco, Villa Caviciana, 750 ml
In Stock

Eleonora 2013

IGT Lazio rosso, Villa Caviciana, 3000 ml

Der fast kreisrunde Lago di Bolsena ist ein eingestürzter Vulkankrater (150 Meter tief!) und liegt in der Region Lazio (ca. 90 Kilometer nördlich von Rom), die an die Toskana und an Umbrien anschliesst. Mocca und Fritz Metzeler kamen auf einer Reise durch Italien in den 1990er Jahren hierher. Die grandiose Landschaft faszinierte sie und wurde ihr Rückzugsort, ihr kleines Paradies für die Urlaubstage. Nach und nach erwarben sie Land, Olivenbäume, Reben, Tiere. Heute umfasst das Gut insgesamt 140 Hektaren am nördlichen Ufer des Sees, davon sind 20 Hektaren mit Reben bepflanzt. 6000 Olivenbäume gehören dazu, einige Hundert Mangalitza-Wollschweine und eine Herde Zackelschafe. Das gesamte Gut ist seit 2006 biozertifiziert und darüber hinaus mit rund 20 Mitarbeitenden einer der grössten Arbeitgeber der Region Viterbo.

Für den Bereich Reben und Wein zeichnet der Schweizer Daniel Eigenheer verantwortlich. 2002 wurden die ersten Reben gepflanzt: die autochthonen Sangiovese und Aleatico, die internationalen Sorten Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon und Cabernet Franc sowie die in dieser Gegend exotisch anmutende Tannat, die aus Südfrankreich stammt. Das mediterrane Klima mit heissen Sommern und nicht allzu kalten Wintern kommt diesen hauptsächlich spät reifenden Traubensorten zugute. Die Weingärten liegen auf einer Höhe von 350 bis 550 Metern über dem Meer mit Blick auf den See. Im Sommer weht immer ein angenehmer Wind vom Mittelmeer her, der die Trauben nach dem Regen schnell trocknet und die Hitze mildert. Im Winterhalbjahr bläst der Tramontana kalt vom Norden her. Hagel kann zuweilen grossen Schaden anrichten. Diese insgesamt günstigen klimatischen Bedingungen erleichtern die sorgfältige und umweltbewusste Pflege nach biologischen Richtlinien. Die Tuff-, Sand- und Lösslehmböden sind vulkanischen Ursprungs.

Die Ernte auf Villa Caviciana startet im August mit dem Aleatico für den frischen Rosé Tadzio und endet im Oktober ebenfalls mit dem Aleatico für den Süsswein Maddalena. Allerdings darf es dann nicht regnen, da sonst die am Stock trocknenden Früchte sehr schnell faulen. In kleinen Kisten werden die handgelesenen Trauben zur Kellerei gebracht. Der moderne, schlicht gehaltene und doch markante Bau wurde aus lokalem Tuffstein – dem traditionellen Baumaterial – gebaut und fügt sich harmonisch in die Landschaft ein. Die Konzeption des Baus nimmt auf eine schonende Vinifikation nach dem Schwerkraftprinzip Rücksicht, so dass grobes Pumpen vermieden werden kann. Es wird ausschliesslich eigenes Traubengut verarbeitet. Alle Weine sind vegan. Am Internationalen Bioweinpreis werden sie regelmässig hoch bewertet.

Die Namen der Weine haben ihre Wurzeln bei deutschen Dichtern, Autoren und Malern, die Italien bereisten und liebten. Sie repräsentieren den kulturellen Brückenschlag zwischen Italien und Deutschland. Filippo Miller war Goethes Pseudonym während seiner Italienreise; Faustinawar seine italienische Geliebte, ihr Taufname war aber MaddalenaLetizia ist eine Mätresse aus Heinrich Heines Werk „Die Bäder von Lucca“ und Eleonora erinnert an die Schauspielerin Eleonora Duse, in die sich Rainer Maria Rilke verliebte. Auch Anna Risi wusste den Maler Feuerbach mit ihrer Schönheit zu verführen. Tadzio schliesslich ist der schöne Jüngling aus Thomas Manns Novelle „Tod in Venedig“.

Winzer

Distillerie Tessendier & Fils

Distillerie Tessendier & Fils

Traubenerzeuger, Produzent von Cognac und innovativen Spirituosen

 

“Zeit ist ein absolutes Muss für die Herstellung hochwertiger Spirituosen» (Jérôme Tessendier)

 

 

Die Distillerie Tessendier & Fils ist ein seit 1880 familiengeführtes Unternehmen in Cognac und Jarnac, am Ufer der Charente, das ein vielfältiges Portfolio an hochwertigen Cognacs (siehe Cognac Park) mit modernem Touch produziert. Die Erben, Jérôme und Lilian Tessendier, haben es verstanden, das Familienunternehmen angesichts der internationalen Dimension des Marktes zu modernisieren: zunächst durch die Schaffung einer eigenen Cognac-Marke, dann durch die Nutzung dieses angestammten Know-hows zur Veredelung anderer Spirituosenarten. Dieses Wissen wurde im Laufe der Zeit geschmiedet, von Generation zu Generation verbessert und wird heute von der Destillerie Tessendier durch drei Cognac-Serien (Park, Campagnère, Grand Breuil) geteilt, von denen jede ihre eigene Besonderheit, ihre eigene Geschichte hat.

Weiterlesen
G. & J. Guillerault / Sebastian Fargette

G. & J. Guillerault / Sebastian Fargette

Gilles Guillerault und Sébastien Fargette sind in Crézancy-en-Sancerre zu Hause, wenige Kilometer westlich von Sancerre an der oberen Loire mitten im Herzen Frankreichs. Es ist eine liebliche, hügelige Landschaft, in der sich Rebberge und kleine, pittoreske Dörfer abwechseln. Sancerre ist mit circa 2400 Hektaren bepflanzter Weinberge eine vergleichsweise sehr kleine Region. Ausschliesslich Sauvignon blanc und Pinot noir werden hier kultiviert.

Weiterlesen
Bodegas Amézola de la Mora

Bodegas Amézola de la Mora

Seinen Ursprung hat das Weingut der Familie Amézola de la Mora im 19. Jahrhundert. Es genoss schon damals einen guten Ruf in weiten Teilen des Landes. Mit dem Auftreten der gefürchteten Reblausplage fand jedoch die Produktion leider ein Ende. 1986 wurde das Familiengut von Iñigo Amézola de la Mora wieder zum Leben erweckt.

Weiterlesen