to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

Álvaro Palacios was only 25 years old when he moved to the lonely Priorat in 1989. He left his parents’ vineyard in Rioja (Palacios Remondo) behind, which had grown too small for him. He joined forces with a group of friends to reawaken the sleeping beauty of the Priorat, which the prior inhabitants had mostly abandoned in search of a better and easier life in the cities.

Coming from the vibrant cosmopolitan city of Barcelona, it’s a good hour and a half’s drive to the Priorat. First, you head southwards down the coast until you turn inland after Tarragona and enter this wild, mountainous region. In summer, it smells of hot stone and dry herbs under the haze of the shimmering heat. Hard to believe that the grapevines on the terraced slopes can have such a vibrant green colour. Their roots search for water several metres deep in the barren slate soil, which is known locally as llicorella.

Red wines from Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Camins del Priorat 2019
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Les Terrasses in 1er Originalholzkiste 2018
Only 8 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Camins del Priorat 2021

Camins del Priorat 2021

DOCa Priorat, Álvaro Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Les Terrasses 2019

Les Terrasses 2019

DOCa Priorat, Álvaro Palacios, 3000 ml

from Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Camins del Priorat 2019
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Les Terrasses in 1er Originalholzkiste 2018
Only 8 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Camins del Priorat 2021

Camins del Priorat 2021

DOCa Priorat, Álvaro Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Les Terrasses 2019

Les Terrasses 2019

DOCa Priorat, Álvaro Palacios, 3000 ml

Together with José Luis Pérez, René Barbier, Daphne Glorian and Carles Pastrana, Álvaro Palacios became one of the Priorat’s principal rediscoverers and pioneers. In the beginning, these friends made wine together. One by one, they ‘restored’ the abandoned, partly ancient plots of land, which were overgrown with gnarled Garnacha and Cariñena vines – hard, sweaty labour on steep slopes. They planted new varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot to blend them with the local grapes. It was not long before wine lovers took notice. As time passed, each of the friends developed and realised their own ideas. Álvaro named his first project Clos Dofí after his own nickname Dofí, meaning dolphin.

The present-day Finca Dofí wine comes from various vineyards in the municipality of Gratallops and is primarily made from Garnacha grapes.  Later came Les Terrasses, a blend of Garnacha and Cariñena from different villages, followed by L’Ermita (1993), which grows on just 1.44 hectares of the eponymous vineyard with Garnacha and Cariñena vines over 70 and 100 years old respectively, and is one of the world’s great cult wines.

Just as he did at his winery Descendientes de J. Palacios in Bierzo, Álvaro developed his wine-making approach in the Priorat according to the Burgundian model by studying the characteristics of the individual plots of land in order to produce true gems of wines from single vineyards. As time went by, he bade farewell to the international grape varieties and focused on the native plants. La Baixada (1.3 ha in Gratallops) and Les Aubaguetes (1.79 ha in Bellmunt with almost 120-year-old vines) are two such examples.

Camins del Priorat is the gateway to the Priorat as a wine that (still) contains a certain amount of international grape varieties (Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah and Merlot). The grapes for this wine come from different villages. Vi de Vila Gratallops, on the other hand, is made exclusively from Garnacha and Cariñena, with a minimal proportion of white varieties that grow sporadically throughout the vineyards. As the name suggests, all the vineyards are located in the municipality of Gratallops.

Producer

Bodegas y Viñedos Artazu

Bodegas y Viñedos Artazu

Bodegas y Viñedos Artadi is a Spanish winery group whose vineyards are in Alicante (Valencia), in the northeastern region of Navarre and in Álava and Gipuzkoa in the Basque Country. In 1985, a group of winegrowers founded this private cooperative project, which, with one tiny exception, only produces single-grape-variety wines.
 

Read more
Bodegas Amézola de la Mora

Bodegas Amézola de la Mora

The Amézola de la Mora family vineyard originated in the 19th century. Already then it enjoyed a good reputation in large parts of the country. With the appearance of the dreaded phylloxera plague, however, production unfortunately came to an end. In 1986, Iñigo Amézola de la Mora brought the family estate back to life.

Read more
Château Raymond Lafon

Château Raymond Lafon

Located in the heart of the Sauternes area, this winery comprises 18 hectares, 16 of which planted with 80% Sémillon and 20% Sauvignon Blanc. The maximum yield by law is 25 hectolitres per hectare. The yields at Raymond-Lafon average only 8 to 10 hectolitres per hectare; in other words, one vine will produce only one glass of delicious wine. Over several pickings, the grapes are harvested one by one according to their level of maturity. In some years, this can result in up to ten selected hand harvests. This alone lets one appreciate the great value of this wine.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

25 Jahre alt war er, als es Álvaro Palacios 1989 ins einsame Priorat zog. Er liess das elterliche Weingut in der Rioja (heute Palacios Remondo), das ihm zu eng geworden war, hinter sich. Mit einigen Freunden wollte er das schlafende Dornröschen Priorat, das die Menschen auf der Suche nach einem besseren und sorgenfreien Leben in den Städten verlassen hatten, wieder zum Leben erwecken.

Von der pulsierenden Weltstadt Barcelona gelangt man in gut anderthalb Stunden Autofahrt ins Priorat. Erst südwärts die Küste entlang, dann biegt man nach Tarragona ins Landesinnere ab und gelangt in diese wilde, gebirgige Gegend. Im Sommer riecht es unter der flirrenden Hitze nach heissem Stein und trockenen Kräutern. Kaum zu glauben, dass die Reben an den terrassierten Hängen so grün leuchten. Sie suchen das Wasser metertief im kargen Schieferboden, der hier Llicorella genannt wird.

Rotweine von Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

In Stock
Parker 97+ Punkte
Les Aubaguetes
In Stock
Parker 91 Punkte
Camins del Priorat
Nur noch 1 Flasche
In Stock
Parker 96+ Punkte
La Baixada
In Stock
Parker 98 Punkte
L'Ermita
Nur noch 5 Flaschen

L'Ermita

DOCa Priorat, Álvaro Palacios, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 950.–

Zusammen mit José Luis Pérez, René Barbier, Daphne Glorian und Carles Pastrana wurde Álvaro Palacios einer der Wiederentdecker und Pioniere des Priorats. Die Freunde machten zu Beginn gemeinsam Wein. Sie «restaurierten» nach und nach die verlassenen, zum Teil uralten Parzellen, auf denen knorrige Garnacha- und Cariñena-Stöcke wuchsen – eine harte, schweisstreibende Arbeit an steilen Hängen. Sie pflanzten neue Sorten wie Cabernet Sauvignon und Merlot an, um sie mit den einheimischen Trauben zu vermählen. Der Erfolg bei den Weinliebhabern liess nicht lange auf sich warten. Später entwickelte und realisierte jeder der Freunde seine eigenen Ideen, und Álvaro nannte sein erstes Projekt nach seinem Spitznamen Dofí (Delfin) Clos Dofí.

Der heutige Wein Finca Dofí stammt aus verschiedenen Lagen der Gemeinde Gratallops und wird hauptsächlich aus Garnacha gekeltert. Später kam der Wein Les Terrasses hinzu, eine Assemblage aus Garnacha und Cariñena aus verschiedenen Dörfern, gefolgt von L’Ermita (1993), der auf gerade mal 1,44 Hektaren des gleichnamigen Weingartens mit über 70- bzw. 100-jährigen Garnacha- und Cariñena-Stöcken wächst und zu den grossen Kultweinen der Welt gehört.

Wie in seinem Weingut Descendientes de J. Palacios in Bierzo entwickelte Álvaro auch hier im Priorat sein Weinschaffen nach burgundischem Vorbild, indem er die Eigenschaften der einzelnen Parzellen studierte, um daraus Weinpreziosen aus Einzellagen zu keltern. Er verabschiedete sich im Laufe der Zeit von den internationalen Rebsorten und legte das Schwergewicht auf die einheimischen Gewächse. La Baixada (1,3 ha in Gratallops) und Les Aubaguetes (1,79 ha in Bellmunt mit bald 120-jährigen Reben) sind Beispiele dafür.

Camins del Priorat ist der Türöffner ins Priorat und ein Wein, der auch (noch) einen gewissen Anteil an internationalen Rebsorten (Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah und Merlot) aufweist. Die Trauben dafür stammen aus verschiedenen Dörfern. Der Vi de Vila Gratallops hingegen wird nur aus Garnacha und Cariñena mit einem minimen Anteil an weissen Sorten, die im Rebberg vereinzelt wachsen, gekeltert. Wie es der Name sagt, liegen alle Weingärten in der Gemeinde Gratallops.

Winzer

Luc Massy

Luc Massy

Verlässt man den Dorfkern von Epesses und folgt der Route de Corniche Richtung Westen, erblickt man auf der rechten Seite hoch oben, mitten in den Reben, ein prachtvolles Herrschaftshaus aus dem 17. Jahrhundert. Das ist der stolze Besitz der Familie Massy. Dazu gehört nicht nur das Haus, sondern auch der einzigartige, ummauerte Clos du Boux. Seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts ist die Familie Massy hier ansässig.

Weiterlesen
Bodegas Campos Reales

Bodegas Campos Reales

Endlos erstreckt sich die Landschaft der Meseta Central, in welcher La Mancha liegt – das Land von Don Quijote und Sancho Panza und die grösste Weinregion Spaniens.

Weiterlesen
Domaine de la Commaraine

Domaine de la Commaraine

Weiterlesen