to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Péssac-Léognan

Pessac-Léognan: top crus from the suburbs

Pessac-Léognan is a communal appellation (following the example of the village appellations in the Médoc) located in the northernmost part of the Graves region. Its immediate proximity to the city of Bordeaux has drastically altered the area in recent years. Many chateaux have had to yield to settlement pressures. For this reason, some of the very best Bordeaux terroirs are located in the new suburbs. Top crus are produced on deep gravel soils, which combine the greatest possible elegance and power in the best Bordeaux style.

White wines from Péssac-Léognan

In Stock
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Château Carbonnieux blanc
Only 14 Bottles
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Château Haut-Brion blanc
Only 1 Bottle

Red wines from Péssac-Léognan

In Stock
In Stock
Chapelle de Mission Haut-Brion
Only 7 Bottles
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Chapelle de Mission Haut-Brion
Only 7 Bottles

The Romans are said to have cultivated excellent wines south of Bordeaux 2,000 years ago. But the real boom for wines from Graves – in particular those from the Pessac-Léognan sub-region – began in 1154, when Eleanor of Aquitaine was crowned queen of England, after which trade in Bordeaux wines greatly intensified. The wines that first became a sensation at the time, as “claret”, came from this area. Today's Château Pape Clément already existed at the time. Pope Clement V was one of many who followed the owner family, and the estate has been named after him since 1305.

The inhabitants of the villages south of Bordeaux long subsisted through forestry. Wine was only cultivated in forest clearings. Today, the scenery has changed completely. Even in Martillac, the southernmost wine growing community and hence the farthest removed from the city of Bordeaux, the population has grown in the last 50 years from 870 to 2,800. Due to the expansion of the city, Bordeaux has lost roughly 250 wineries in the last century. The two most prestigious chateaux in the area, Haut-Brion and La Mission Haut-Brion, have long been situated in the suburban belt.

White crus are also superb

For centuries, the area was called “Hautes Graves”, and in 1987 was first accorded the privilege of its own appellation, with the name Pessac-Léognan. This special status was warranted as early as 1953, when the estates in all of Graves were newly classified. All of the 16 crus classified then are located in the Pessac-Léognan sub-region. While the vines are cultivated overwhelmingly in wide terraces further south, they grow here in perfectly aligned slopes. In the deep gravel soils, Cabernet presents its best qualities. Where sand is also at play, Merlot is also cultivated. While Cabernet Sauvignon sets the tone in many top crus, Merlot is not far behind. Of the total of roughly 1,300 hectares of cultivation area, 1,000 are stocked with red varieties. The roughly 300 hectares on which white wines are cultivated yield the highest-level, most storable white crus in all of Bordeaux. Sémillon generally dominates in these, with a proportion of roughly 60 percent.

Subregions

Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: the heart of Chilean viticulture

Read more
Rueda
Castilla y León

Rueda

Rueda: Everybody’s Darling

Read more
Maipo
Valle Central

Maipo

Maipo Valley: Seat of wine-nobility

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Péssac-Léognan

Pessac-Léognan: Topcrus aus der Vorstadt

Pessac-Léognan ist eine kommunale Appellation (nach dem Vorbild der Dorfappellationen im Médoc), befindet sich aber im nördlichsten Zipfel der Region Graves. Die unmittelbare Nähe zur Stadt Bordeaux hat das Gebiet in den letzten Jahren drastisch verändert. Viele Châteaux mussten dem Siedlungsdruck weichen. Dabei befinden sich in den neuen Vorstädten einige der besten Bordeaux-Terroirs überhaupt. Auf tiefgründigen Kiesböden reifen Topcrus, die in bester Bordeaux-Manier grösstmögliche Eleganz mit grösstmöglicher Kraft in sich vereinen.

Weissweine aus Péssac-Léognan

In Stock
Wine Spectator 89 Punkte
Ch. Carbonnieux blanc
Nur noch 6 Flaschen
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 91 Punkte
Ch. Carbonnieux blanc

Rotweine aus Péssac-Léognan

In Stock
Ch. Fieuzal rouge
Nur noch 14 Flaschen
In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
Ch. Haut-Bailly
Nur noch 1 Flasche
In Stock
Parker (91-93) Punkte
Ch. Haut-Bailly

Schon die Römer sollen vor 2000 Jahren südlich von Bordeaux hervorragende Weine angebaut haben. Der eigentliche Boom der Weine aus Graves, und insbesondere jener aus der Subregion Pessac-Léognan, begann aber im Jahr 1154, als Eleonore von Aquitanien zur Königin von England gekrönt wurde, wonach sich der Handel mit Bordeaux-Weinen stark intensiviert. Die Weine, die zu dieser Zeit erstmals als „Claret“ für Furore sorgten, stammten aus dieser Gegend. Das heutige Château Pape Clément existierte ebenfalls schon zu jener Zeit. Aus der damaligen Besitzerfamilie ging unter anderem Papst Klemens V. hervor, nach dem das Gut seit dem Jahr 1305 benannt ist.

Langezeit lebten die Bewohner der Dörfer südlich von Bordeaux von Forstwirtschaft. Wein wurde lediglich in Waldlichtungen angebaut. Heute hat sich die Szenerie völlig verändert. Sogar in der südlichsten, also von der Stadt Bordeaux am weitesten entfernt liegenden Weinbaugemeinde Martillac ist die Einwohnerzahl in den letzten 50 Jahren von 870 auf 2800 angewachsen. Aufgrund der Expansion der Stadt sollen in den letzten 100 Jahren rund 250 Weingüter verschwunden sein. Die beiden prestigeträchtigsten Châteaux des Gebietes, Haut-Brion und La Mission Haut-Brion liegen längst inmitten des Vorstadt-Gürtels.

Auch weisse Crus sind top

Über Jahrhunderte wurde das Gebiet „Hautes Graves“ genannt, erst 1987 wurde ihm das Privileg einer eigenen Appellation mit dem Namen Pessac-Léognan zugesprochen. Dass dieser Sonderstatus berechtigt ist, zeigte sich schon 1953, als die Güter in ganz Graves neu klassifiziert wurden. Alle 16 damals klassifizierten Crus befinden sich in der Subregion Pessac-Léognan. Während weiter südlich die Reben vorwiegend in breiten Terrassen angebaut werden, wachsen die Reben hier in perfekt ausgerichteten Hanglagen. In den tiefgründigen Kiesböden zeigt der Cabernet seine besten Eigenschaften, dort wo auch Sand mit im Spiel ist, wird auch Merlot angebaut. In vielen Topcrus gibt zwar der Cabernet Sauvignon den Ton, der Merlot steht aber nicht weit zurück. Von der insgesamt rund 1300 Hektar umfassenden Anbaufläche sind deren 1000 Hektar mit roten Sorten bestockt. Die rund 300 Hektar, auf denen Weisswein angebaut wird, bringen die hochkarätigsten und lagerfähigsten weissen Crus in ganz Bordeaux hervor. In diesem dominiert in der Regel der Sémillon mit einem Anteil von rund 60 Prozent.

Unterregionen

Côtes de Bordeaux-St-Macaire
Bordeaux

Côtes de Bordeaux-St-Macaire

Weiterlesen
Leyda
Aconcagua

Leyda

Leyda: Klein, kühl aber fein

Weiterlesen
Zürich
Ostschweiz

Zürich

Zürich: Auf dem Weg zur Spitze

Weiterlesen