to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Susana Balbo Wines

The mighty Aconcagua watches over the plain of Mendoza, 1000 kilometres from Argentina’s capital Buenos Aires. A barren, semi-arid land where Jesuits and Franciscans, after the Spanish conquest in the 16th century, discovered favourable natural conditions for viticulture.

At 1000 to 3000 meters above sea level lies this oldest and most important wine region of the country. The village of Agrelo, near Luján de Cuyo, is home to the bodega founded by Susana Balbo in 1999. She is a woman with an impressive career. In 1981, she became the first woman in Argentina to successfully complete her degree in œnology. In 2015, Drinks Business magazine named her “Woman of the Year”. In 2018, she was recognised as one of the ten most influential women in the international wine trade. She also presided over the national marketing organisation Wines of Argentina for several years.

White wines from Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Torrontés Barrel Fermented 2018
In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Torrontés Crios 2020

Torrontés Crios 2020

Salta, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Chardonnay Crios 2019

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml

Red wines from Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Malbec Signature 2018
Only 1 Bottle
Vegan

Malbec Signature 2018

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Benmarco Expresivo 2018

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Benmarco Cabernet Sauvignon 2017
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Nosotros 2015
Only 1 Bottle
Vegan

Nosotros 2015

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml

from Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock

Benmarco Expresivo 2018

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Nosotros 2015
Only 1 Bottle
Vegan

Nosotros 2015

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock
Brioso 2013
Only 11 Bottles
Vegan

Brioso 2013

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Torrontés Barrel Fermented 2018

She gained her first professional experience at a young age in Cafayate, in the northern province of Salta, where she experimented with the white grape Torrontés. Her expertise later earned her the moniker “Queen of Torrontés”. This was followed by further leading positions in large and well-known wineries at home and abroad. In 1999, she realised her personal dream by founding her own bodega, where she is now free to create wines according to her own vision. When her children Ana and José decided to take on responsibility in her life’s work, it was another dream come true for Susana Balbo.

 

300 days of sunshine, but only 200 millimetres of rain a year mean two things in this wine region: on the one hand, most pests and vine diseases don’t stand a chance in the hot, dry climate. As a result, it is possible to work in close balance with nature, without the use of chemical pesticides. On the other hand, irrigation has to be targeted and controlled by means of a drip irrigation system in order not to waste precious water.

 

Malbec and Torrontés are the Argentinian grape varieties par excellence. Over the last century, the Cot grape variety basically relocated from Cahors in southwestern France to Argentina where it became known by the name Malbec. The wines delight connoisseurs with their deep colour and intense fruit reminiscent of Amarena cherries. The white wines from Torrontés are very aromatic and flowery. It is to Susana Balbo’s credit that Torrontés is now considered a quality variety and, like Malbec, has become a flagship for Argentine wine. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Syrah, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay are also cultivated here. Mechanisation at the vineyard is kept to a bare minimum and all grapes are carefully harvested by hand.

 

Sustainable and natural cultivation of the vineyards, quality assurance according to international standards (ISO 22,000), responsible management with social competence (support and help for employees and their families) and a number of eco-friendly measures (CO2 emissions, energy optimisation, waste disposal, recycling) are important responsibilities that Susana Balbo and her children take on with their company – by no means something to be taken for granted in Latin America.

 

Three product lines appeal to different sensations:

 

  • The Crios wines are fresh, youthful and straightforward – a perfect everyday delight.
  • The Benmarco wines are produced from selected, mostly high-altitude vineyards with pronounced characteristics.
  • The wines bearing Susana Balbo’s name are elegant signature wines that impressively demonstrate the œnologist’s unique talent for blending different provenances.

 

The Nosotros wine – meaning “we” in Spanish – is an expression of the dedication and experience of the whole team. It is the flagship of the bodega, comes from a single vineyard and regularly receives rave reviews. It is certainly one of the best wines in Argentina (James Suckling awarded the 2013 vintage 99 points and placed it in his Top 100).

Producer

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Standing on La Gerla's terrace, one's view sweeps over Montalcino's peaceful landscape with its hills, vineyards, slim cypresses, and estates scattered all around. Nestled in the Colli Senesi to the south of Siena, the area comprises approx. 2000 hectares (up from just sixty hectares 50 years ago!).

Read more
André Clouet / Jean François Clouet

André Clouet / Jean François Clouet

We didn’t find the low house, dating from the 17th century, straight away, even though the village of Bouzy is not very large. Modest buildings are grouped around a courtyard, behind which a vineyard lies, similar to a clos.

Read more
Dominio de Pingus

Dominio de Pingus

The first Pingus was bottled in 1995. This limited production wine from Ribera del Duero made history with a legendary rating from Robert Parker Junior (1998): "One of the greatest young red wines I have ever tasted." The vintage is also at the centre of a somewhat mythical-sounding story – the freighter carrying a quarter of the limited production sank off the Azores, with the wine ending up in Davy Jones's locker at the bottom of the sea.

 

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

Susana Balbo Wines

Der mächtige Aconcagua wacht über die Ebene von Mendoza, 1000 Kilometer von Argentiniens Hauptstadt Buenos Aires entfernt. Ein karges, semiarides Land, in welchem Jesuiten und Franziskaner nach der Eroberung durch die Spanier im 16. Jahrhundert günstige natürliche Voraussetzungen für den Weinbau erkannten.

Auf 1000 bis 3000 Metern über Meer liegt dieses älteste und bedeutendste Weingebiet des Landes. Im Dorf Agrelo, nahe Luján de Cuyo, befindet sich die von Susana Balbo 1999 gegründete Bodega. Sie ist eine Frau mit beeindruckendem Werdegang. 1981 schloss sie als erste Frau in Argentinien ihr Önologiestudium erfolgreich ab. Vom Magazin Drinks Business erhielt sie 2015 den Titel „Woman of the Year“. 2018 wurde sie als eine der zehn einflussreichsten Frauen der internationalen Weinbranche geehrt. Ausserdem präsidierte sie während einigen Jahren die nationale Marketingorganisation Wines of Argentina.

Weissweine von Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock
In Stock

Torrontés Crios 2021

Salta, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 90 Punkte
Torrontés Crios 2020

Torrontés Crios 2020

Salta, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml

Rotweine von Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock

Malbec Crios 2021

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Malbec Anubis 2017

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 93+ Punkte
Benmarco Expresivo 2018
In Stock

Malbec Anubis 2020

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml

von Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock

Malbec Crios 2021

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Malbec Anubis 2020

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 90 Punkte
Torrontés Crios 2020

Torrontés Crios 2020

Salta, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Brioso 2019

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 750 ml

Ihre ersten Berufserfahrungen machte sie in jungen Jahren in Cafayate, in der nördlichen Provinz Salta, wo sie mit der weissen Traube Torrontés experimentierte. Ihre Expertise trug ihr später den Titel „Queen of Torrontés“ ein. Es folgten weitere Stationen in leitender Stellung bei grossen und namhaften Kellereien im In- und Ausland. 1999 verwirklichte sie ihren persönlichen Traum mit der Gründung der eigenen Bodega, wo sie Weine ganz nach ihrer eigenen Vision kreieren kann. Dass ihre Kinder Ana und José sich dazu entschlossen, Verantwortung in ihrem Lebenswerk zu übernehmen, war für Susana Balbo die Erfüllung eines weiteren Lebenstraums.

300 Tage Sonnenschein, aber nur 200 Millimeter Regen im Jahr bedeuten in dieser Weinregion zweierlei: Einerseits lässt das heisse, trockene Klima vielen Schädlingen und Rebkrankheiten keine Chance. Es kann deshalb sehr naturnah und ohne Verwendung chemischer Substanzen gearbeitet werden. Andererseits muss gezielt und kontrolliert mittels einer Tropfbewässerungsanlage bewässert werden, um das rare Nass nicht zu verschwenden.

Malbec und Torrontés sind die argentinischen Traubensorten schlechthin. Im letzten Jahrhundert verlegte sozusagen die Rebsorte Cot aus dem Cahors im Südwesten Frankreichs ihre Heimat nach Argentinien. Sie nahm dort den Namen Malbec an. Die Weine begeistern mit ihrer tiefen Farbe und intensiven Frucht, die an Amarenakirschen erinnert. Sehr aromatisch und blumig zeigen sich die Weissweine aus Torrontés. Es ist Susana Balbos Verdienst, dass Torrontés heute als Qualitätssorte gilt und wie Malbec zu einem Aushängeschild für den argentinischen Wein geworden ist. Ausserdem werden auch Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Syrah, Sauvignon Blanc und Chardonnay kultiviert. Die Mechanisierung im Rebberg ist auf ein Minimum reduziert und alle Trauben werden sorgfältig von Hand geerntet.

Nachhaltige und naturnahe Kultivierung der Weingärten, Qualitätssicherung nach internationalen Standards (ISO 22.000), verantwortungsvolle Geschäftsführung mit Sozialkompetenz (Unterstützung und Hilfe für die Mitarbeiter und ihre Familien) sowie zahlreiche umweltfreundliche Massnahmen (CO2-Ausstoss, Energieoptimierung, Entsorgung, Recycling) sind für Susana Balbo wichtige Verpflichtungen, die sie und ihre Kinder in ihrem Unternehmen eingehen – in Lateinamerika mitnichten eine Selbstverständlichkeit.

Drei Produktelinien sprechen verschiedene Genussmomente an:

  • Die Crios-Weine sind frisch, jugendlich und unkompliziert – gemacht für den schönen Alltag.
  • Die Benmarco-Weine entstehen aus ausgewählten, meist hohen Reblagen mit ausgeprägter Charakteristik.
  • Die Weine unter Susana Balbos Namen sind elegante Signature-Weine, die das Talent der Önologin für das Blending verschiedenster Provenienzen eindrücklich beweisen.

Der Wein Nosotros – „wir“ auf Spanisch – ist schliesslich Ausdruck der Hingabe und der Erfahrung des ganzen Teams. Er ist das Aushängeschild der Bodega, stammt aus einer Einzellage und erhält regelmässig höchste Bewertungen. Mit Sicherheit gehört er zu den besten Weinen Argentiniens (99 Punkte und Top 100 von James Suckling für den 2013er).

Winzer

Principe di San Martino

Principe di San Martino

Der Absatz des italienischen Stiefels ist mit Sicherheit eine Reise wert. Landschaftlich reizvoll vom azurblauen Wasser des Adriatischen und Ionischen Meers umspült, bewohnt von liebenswerten, fröhlichen Menschen in pittoresken und kulturell interessanten Orten und reich an kulinarischen Genüssen bietet diese Gegend viel Balsam für Herz und Seele.

Weiterlesen

Roland und Karin Lenz

Noch während des Önologiestudiums von Roland Lenz konnten er und seine Frau Karin 1994 acht Hektaren Weinreben am Iselisberg übernehmen. Es war eine einmalige Gelegenheit, die sie am Schopf packten, obwohl die beiden mit dem Gedanken spielten, sich im Ausland, weit weg von der Schweiz, selbständig zu machen. Das taten sie zwar später auch, aber das ist eine andere Geschichte.

Weiterlesen
Domaine de la Commaraine

Domaine de la Commaraine

Die Schönheit hinter den Mauern von Château Commaraine

 

Die burgundische Gemeinde Pommard hat ein klassisches, historisches Ambiente mit den meisten Häusern und ummauerten Weinbergen (Clos) intakt, die ein friedliches und ruhiges Flair verströmen. Der kleine, romantische Dorfplatz vermittelt seinen Besuchern ein leicht exotisches Gefühl; und das im ländlichen Burgund.

Weiterlesen