to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings, part of the Palatinate’s vineyard premier league, lies embedded in the sun-drenched Palatinate, right in the middle of the Freinsheim winegrowing district. For more than a decade, the new generation of the Rings family has been passionately concentrating on the ecological production of high quality dry wines. The hallmarks of Weingut Rings are well-balanced, dense wines with pronounced character and great cellar potential.

The Palatinate region, also known as the German Tuscany, really is a charming district. Its mild climate enables almond trees to blossom, figs and bergamot oranges to ripen, pines and cypress trees to grow and the finest wines to thrive. No wonder that the Romans felt so at home here!

The Rings family are based in Freinsheim, a few kilometres north of the small and picturesque spa town of Bad Dürkheim. In 2008, brothers Andreas and Steffen took over responsibility of the vineyard from their parents. The two highly qualified vintners restructured the entire production so that the company would carry out its own bottling. Before this, their father exclusively produced cask wine, as well as being involved in fruit cultivation. Their indefatigable striving for quality ensured that experts soon took notice. Quite deservedly, in 2012 the brothers were awarded the German Red Wine Award for their Portugieser Reserve 2009, and were therefore distinguished as THE newcomers. In 2015, the estate was accepted into the VDP (Association of German Prädikat Wine Estates), and in 2017 was distinguished with 4 grapes by the Gault-Millau Wine Guide.

The original 12 hectares has since been expanded by a further 19 hectares. The estate owns high quality vineyards in the municipalities of Freinsheim, Ungstein and Kallstadt, and which have completely different soil properties. The most well-known sites are: in Freinsheim Das Kreuz, in Ungstein the Weilberg (around the Roman villa with its sensational view of the lowlands) and in Kallstadt the Saumagen. For a long time now, the brothers have been employing organic cultivation methods, and are currently in the process of becoming a certified organic winery. Their approach is to interfere with vinification as little as possible. The grape musts are fermented spontaneously without the addition of yeasts, and are in part only lightly filtered, or not at all. The yields are strictly controlled, and especially in the case of the single vineyard wines are kept very low.

The range of grape varieties grown includes international varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir, Merlot and Cabernet Franc, as well as varieties typical of this region, such as Riesling, Silvaner, Saint Laurent and Dornfelder.

Steffen and Andreas Rings’ motivation is to coax out the unique character of every site or indeed plot, and so to add their personal signature to each of their wines.

White wines from Weingut Rings

In Stock

Grauburgunder 2020

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 750 ml
In Stock

Grauburgunder 2019

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 750 ml
In Stock
Riesling Weilberg 2015
Only 2 Bottles
Vegan

Riesling Weilberg 2015

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 750 ml
In Stock
Riesling Weilberg 2016
Only 23 Bottles
Vegan

Riesling Weilberg 2016

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 750 ml

Red wines from Weingut Rings

In Stock

Roter Satz 2015

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 750 ml
In Stock
Kallstadter Saumagen Spätburgunder (rot) 2014
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
In Stock

Das kleine Kreuz 2017

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 750 ml

from Weingut Rings

In Stock

Grauburgunder 2020

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 750 ml
In Stock
Kallstadter Saumagen Spätburgunder (rot) 2014
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock

Das kleine Kreuz 2017

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 750 ml
In Stock
Riesling Weilberg 2016
Only 23 Bottles
Vegan

Riesling Weilberg 2016

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 750 ml

Producer

Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Giorgio Conterno and his Baroli from Piedmont, is one of Baur au Lac Vins' long-standing partners. He talks about his new Tuscan passion with beaming eyes:

Read more
Park

Park

For many years Baur au Lac Wines has been Switzerland's exclusive importer of the sumptuous Cognacs created by Dominic Park. The story goes back to the 1990s when Dominic Park decided to leave his job as a wine trader in London to create his own cognac house with the style he wanted. This is summed up by a very clean vision of what cognac should be: insist on the best origins and a very precise distillation and ageing to give a high-class product in a modern, elegant bottle.

Read more
Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

The history of this Bodega is a prime example of those who do not let themselves be led astray, consistently and persistently go their own way, remain faithful to their convictions and who then reap the well-deserved success.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Weingut Rings

Das Weingut Rings, Teil der Pfälzer Spitzen-Weingüterliga, liegt eingebettet in die sonnenverwöhnte Pfalz, mitten in der Weinbaugemeinde Freinsheim. Seit nun über eine Dekade konzentriert sich die neue Generation der Familie Rings leidenschaftlich auf die ökologische Produktion von hochwertigen, trockenen Weinen. Das Aushängeschild des Weingutes Rings sind ausgewogene, dichte Weine mit ausgeprägtem Charakter und grossem Lagerpotenzial.

Die Pfalz, auch die deutsche Toskana genannt, ist in der Tat eine bezaubernde Gegend. Ihr mildes Klima lässt Mandelbäume blühen, Feigen und Bergamotten reifen, Pinien und Zypressen wachsen und feinste Weine gedeihen. Kein Wunder, haben sich die Römer hier heimisch gefühlt!

Wenige Kilometer nördlich vom malerischen Kurstädtchen Bad Dürkheim liegt Freinsheim, wo die Familie Rings zuhause ist. Die Brüder Andreas und Steffen haben 2008 die gemeinsame Verantwortung für das Weingut von ihren Eltern übernommen. Die beiden bestens ausgebildeten Winzer haben die gesamte Produktion auf Eigenabfüllung umgestellt. Vater Rings produzierte früher ausschliesslich Fasswein und war im Obstanbau engagiert. Ihr unermüdliches Qualitätsstreben liess die Fachwelt bald einmal aufhorchen. Verdienterweise erhielten die beiden 2012 den Deutschen Rotweinpreis für ihren Portugieser Reserve 2009 und wurden dabei als DIE Newcomer bezeichnet. 2015 wurde das Weingut in den VDP (Vereinigung der deutschen Prädikatsweingüter) aufgenommen und wurde 2017 mit 4 Trauben des Gault-Millau Wine Guide ausgezeichnet.

Weissweine von Weingut Rings

In Stock
Sauvignon blanc Freinsheim
Vegan
In Stock
Kallstadter Saumagen Riesling
Vegan
In Stock
Kallstadter Saumagen Riesling
Nur noch 9 Flaschen
Vegan
In Stock
Sauvignon blanc Freinsheim
Vegan

Rotweine von Weingut Rings

In Stock
Das Kreuz
Nur noch 1 Flasche
Vegan

Das Kreuz

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 77.–
In Stock
Roter Satz
Vegan

Roter Satz

QbA Pfalz, Weingut Rings, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 19.80
In Stock
Kallstadter Saumagen Spätburgunder (rot)
Nur noch 20 Flaschen
Vegan
In Stock
Roter Satz
Nur noch 9 Flaschen
Vegan

Zu den damaligen 12 Hektaren sind in der Zwischenzeit weitere 19 hinzugekommen. Das Weingut besitzt wertvolle Weingärten in den Gemeinden Freinsheim, Ungstein und Kallstadt mit ganz unterschiedlichen Bodeneigenschaften. Die bekanntesten Lagen sind: in Freinsheim Das Kreuz, in Ungstein der Weilberg (rund um die Römervilla mit sensationellem Blick auf die Ebene) und in Kallstadt der Saumagen. Die Brüder wenden schon längere Zeit biologische Anbaumethoden an und sind derzeit in Umstellung zum zertifizierten Bioweinbaubetrieb. Bei der Vinifikation wird so wenig wie möglich eingegriffen. Die Moste werden ohne Zusatz von Zuchthefen spontanvergoren und teilweise nur leicht bzw. gar nicht filtriert. Die Erträge werden strengstens kontrolliert und vor allem bei den Lagenweinen sehr niedrig gehalten.

Der Rebsortenspiegel beinhaltet sowohl internationale Sorten wie Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir, Merlot und Cabernet Franc wie auch die für diese Gegend typischen Traubensorten Riesling, Silvaner, Sankt Laurent und Dornfelder.

Der Ansporn von Steffen und Andreas Rings ist es, den einzigartigen Charakter jeder Lage oder sogar Parzelle herauszuarbeiten und so, jedem Wein deren eigene Handschrift mitzugeben

Winzer

Graf Trauttmansdorff

Graf Trauttmansdorff

Das Burgenland ist eine reizvolle, hügelige Landschaft mit schmucken Weinbaudörfern. Eines davon ist Horitschon im Mittelburgenland, auf dessen Gemeindegebiet die Trauben für Max Trauttmansdorffs Weine gehegt und gepflegt werden. Ungarn und die Pannonische Ebene, die das Klima mit warmen Winden stark beeinflusst, sind nicht weit entfernt.

Weiterlesen
Christian Zündel

Christian Zündel

Christian Zündel gehört zum harten Kern der profilierten Tessiner Winzer, die in den 80er Jahren begannen, Weine ganz anderer Art als sonst im Tessin üblich zu keltern. Diese Gruppe „junger Wilder" aus der deutschsprachigen Schweiz waren oft Quereinsteiger, hatten wenig Ahnung von Weinbau, aber dafür viel Enthusiasmus und Tatendrang. So auch Christian Zündel, der als Geologe 1976 ins Tessin kam.

Weiterlesen
Château Biac

Château Biac

Das Leben ist manchmal voller Überraschungen. Das musste die libanesische Familie Asseily erfahren, nachdem sie 2006 «zufälligerweise» und ungeplant Eigentümerin von Château Biac geworden war. Regelmässig verbrachten die Asseilys ihre Sommerferien in der Nähe von Biac, aber nie hätten sie es sich träumen lassen, einmal dieses wunderbare Anwesen selber zu besitzen und zu bewirtschaften. Die genaue Geschichte dahinter erzählen Tony und Youmna Asseily am besten persönlich bei einem Glas ihres Weins.

Weiterlesen