to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Son Mayol

This new bodega lies not far away from the lively city of Palma, and – we are convinced of this – will come to set new standards on Majorca.

The ingeniously simple building fits harmoniously into the gently hilly landscape. In the distance, you can see the capital, and with a clear view, even the world-famous gothic cathedral, built from vibrant golden sandstone. The equipment has been selected according to the state of the art, and leaves nothing to be desired. The required power is acquired using solar cells, and all the water used is purified under strict monitoring before being fed back into circulation. This is all the more important, as for years now, Majorca has been suffering from a water shortage.

The first vines were planted in 2007/2008. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot – the classic Bordeaux varieties – are distributed across 35 different plots, occupying around 20 hectares in total. In Majorca’s warm Mediterranean climate, the slightly elevated position and differing alignment of the individual vineyards represent an advantage when it comes to pressing elegant, long-lasting wines. Cultivation is by biological and biodynamic methods, always under the utmost care.

The first commercial vintage under its own name appeared in 2014. The winemaker is no less than Patrick Léon, former oenologist at Château Mouton-Rothschild for 20 years, and adviser to the world’s most prestigious vineyards, such as Opus One or Almaviva. Under his aegis, Son Mayol’s wines have been propelled to the top class. Working by his side is Marie Barbé. She brings a wealth of international experience with her, and previously worked with Patrick Léon for a number of years.

The grapes from the various plots are vinified separately. Depending on the young wines’ characteristics, they are assembled into either Grand Vin or Premier Vin, and aged in barriques for different lengths of time. The Grand Vin is the classic, characterised by its imposing structure, complexity and long storage potential. The Premier Vin appeals thanks to its pronounced fruitiness and its lighter tannin and body structure.

Son Mayol’s logo depicts the head of an Angus cow. It all started with cattle farming. The production of the very highest quality meat, based on ecological considerations, is still an active part of Son Mayol’s business. Upon entering the bodega, every visitor is eyed up by the animals in minute detail. The cattle are not fussy eaters either, and here and there manage to feast themselves upon the sweet grapes. Another ‘important’ role at Son Mayol is fulfilled by four-legged friends. They appear on the bottles’ labels as upholders of the bottling process: The dogs Cher, Leda and Luna were responsible for the 2014 vintage. How refreshingly delightful for a bodega that will soon count among the Spanish icons.

White wines from Son Mayol

In Stock
Vin Blanc Son Mayol
Certified integrated production

Red wines from Son Mayol

In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol
Vegan
Certified integrated production
subscription
In Stock
Premier Vin Son Mayol
Vegan
Certified integrated production
subscription
In Stock
Premier Vin Son Mayol
Vegan
Certified integrated production
subscription

Producers

Weingut Schloss Gobelsburg

Weingut Schloss Gobelsburg

The first written evidence of Schloss Gobelsburg dates from 1074, but it was in 1171 that the Cistercian monks from the Zwettl monastery obtained the first vineyards at Heiligenstein and at Gaisberg in the Kamptal. Visitors entering the baroque-style complex built on a slight mound sense this tradition, this spirit, this experience accumulated over the centuries. The view takes in all the surroundings, from the village of Gobelsburg to the vine-covered hills of Heiligenstein. Inside, near the parish church where couples say yes for life, when the weather is pleasant, the pretty and romantic garden invites all to rest for a while.

Read more
Cascina Barisél / Franco Penna

Cascina Barisél / Franco Penna

Read more
G. & J. Guillerault / Sebastian Fargette

G. & J. Guillerault / Sebastian Fargette

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Son Mayol

Nicht weit von der quirligen Stadt Palma entfernt liegt diese neue Bodega, die – wir sind überzeugt – ganz neue Massstäbe auf Mallorca setzen wird.

Der raffiniert schlichte Bau fügt sich harmonisch in die sanft hügelige Landschaft ein. In der Ferne erkennt man die Hauptstadt und bei klarer Sicht sogar die weltberühmte gotische Kathedrale aus golden leuchtendem Sandstein. Die Ausstattung wurde nach modernsten Erkenntnissen gewählt und lässt keine Wünsche offen. Die notwendige Energie wird mittels Solarzellen gewonnen, der gesamte Wasserverbrauch wird kontrolliert gereinigt und wieder in den Kreislauf eingespeist. Dies ist umso wichtiger, als Mallorca seit Jahren unter Wassermangel leidet.

Weissweine von Son Mayol

In Stock
Vin Blanc Son Mayol
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Rotweine von Son Mayol

In Stock
Premier Vin Son Mayol
Nur noch 22 Flaschen
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Grand Vin Son Mayol
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Premier Vin Son Mayol
Nur noch 12 Flaschen
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Die ersten Reben wurden 2007/2008 angepflanzt. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc und Petit Verdot – die klassischen Bordeauxsorten – verteilen sich auf 35 verschiedene Parzellen und belegen insgesamt rund 20 Hektaren. Im warmen mediterranen Klima Mallorcas sind die leicht erhöhte Lage und die unterschiedliche Ausrichtung der einzelnen Weingärten ein Vorteil, um elegante, langlebige Weine zu keltern. Für die Pflege werden unter grösster Sorgfalt biologische und auch biodynamische Methoden angewendet.

Der erste kommerzialisierte Jahrgang unter eigenem Namen entstand 2014. Der Weinmacher ist niemand Geringerer als Patrick Léon, ehemaliger Önologe von Château Mouton-Rothschild während 20 Jahren und Berater für angesehenste Weingüter der Welt wie Opus One oder Almaviva. Unter seiner Ägide werden die Weine von Son Mayol zur Spitzenklasse vorstossen. An seiner Seite wirkt Marie Barbé. Sie bringt reiche internationale Erfahrung mit und hat früher einige Jahre mit Patrick Léon zusammengearbeitet.

Die Trauben der verschiedenen Parzellen werden separat vinifiziert. Je nach Charakteristik der Jungweine werden sie zum Grand Vin oder zum Premier Vin assembliert und unterschiedlich lang in Barriques ausgebaut. Der Grand Vin ist der Klassiker, der sich durch seine imposante Struktur, seine Komplexität und sein grosses Lagerpotential auszeichnet. Der Premier Vin gefällt durch seine ausgeprägte Frucht und seine leichtere Tannin- und Körperstruktur.

Das Logo von Son Mayol zeigt den Kopf eines Angus-Rindes. Mit der Rinderzucht hat alles angefangen. Die Herstellung von Fleisch allerbester Qualität nach ökologischen Gesichtspunkten ist nach wie vor ein aktiver Geschäftszweig von Son Mayol. Am Eingang zur Bodega beäugen die Tiere jeden Besucher aufs Genaueste. Sie sind keine Kostverächter und schaffen es hie und da, sich an den süssen Trauben gütlich zu tun. Andere Vierbeiner spielen auf Son Mayol eine weitere „wichtige“ Rolle. Sie erscheinen auf der Flaschenetikette als Hüter der Abfüllung: Die Hunde Cher, Leda und Luna waren für den Jahrgang 2014 zuständig. Wie erfrischend sympathisch für eine Bodega, die bald zu den spanischen Ikonen zählen wird!

 

 

Winzer

Cascina Barisél / Franco Penna

Cascina Barisél / Franco Penna

Mit nur gerade 5 Hektaren Land ist Franco Pennas Weingut klein, aber sehr fein. In der Nähe von Canelli, östlich von Alba gelegen, besitzt er nur allerbeste Lagen in südlicher Ausrichtung und mit kalkreichen Böden. Sein Vater Enrico, der das Gut in den 1960er Jahren kaufte, hatte dabei offensichtlich eine glückliche Hand. Praktisch die Hälfte ist mit Moscato bianco bepflanzt.

Weiterlesen
Azienda Agricola Pratello

Azienda Agricola Pratello

In Padenghe sul Garda, einem kleinen, mittelalterlichen Ort am südwestlichen Ende des Gardasees, steht die traditionsreiche, aber auch fortschrittliche Azienda Agricola Pratello.

Weiterlesen
Kangarilla Road / Helen u. Kevin O'Brien

Kangarilla Road / Helen u. Kevin O'Brien

Das Weingut Kangarilla Road liegt in Südaustralien, genauer im McLaren Vale, ungefähr eine Autostunde von Adelaide entfernt. Das Tal wird eingerahmt vom Golf St. Vincent im Westen und von der Hügellandschaft im Osten. Seit 1850 wird hier Rebbau betrieben und McLaren Vale gilt seit jeher als eine der besten Weinbaugegenden Australiens. Das Klima ist geprägt von warmen Sommern und milden Wintern unter dem Einfluss des nahen Meeres.

Weiterlesen