to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Son Mayol

This new bodega lies not far away from the lively city of Palma, and has set new standards on Majorca.

The ingeniously simple building fits harmoniously into the gently hilly landscape. In the distance, you can see the capital, and with a clear view, even the world-famous gothic cathedral, built from vibrant golden sandstone. The equipment has been selected according to the state of the art, and leaves nothing to be desired. The required power is acquired using solar cells, and all the water used is purified under strict monitoring before being fed back into circulation. This is all the more important, as for years now, Majorca has been suffering from a water shortage.

White wines from Son Mayol

In Stock
In Stock

Red wines from Son Mayol

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

from Son Mayol

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

The first vines were planted in 2007/2008. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot – the classic Bordeaux varieties – are distributed across 35 different plots, occupying around 20 hectares in total. In Majorca’s warm Mediterranean climate, the slightly elevated position and differing alignment of the individual vineyards represent an advantage when it comes to pressing elegant, long-lasting wines. Cultivation is by biological and biodynamic methods, always under the utmost care.

The first commercial vintage under its own name appeared in 2014. The winemaker is no less than Patrick Léon, former oenologist at Château Mouton-Rothschild for 20 years, and adviser to the world’s most prestigious vineyards, such as Opus One or Almaviva. Sadly, he passed away at the end of 2018. His legacy was carried on for a few years by Marie Barbé, who had worked alongside him, and his son Patrick. Today, Leo Borsi is responsible for the undisputed top wines.  

The grapes from the various plots are vinified separately. Depending on the young wines’ characteristics, they are assembled into either Grand Vin or Premier Vin, and aged in barriques for different lengths of time. The Grand Vin is the classic, characterised by its imposing structure, complexity and long storage potential. The Premier Vin appeals thanks to its pronounced fruitiness and its lighter tannin and body structure.

Son Mayol’s logo depicts the head of an Angus cow. It all started with cattle farming. The production of the very highest quality meat, based on ecological considerations, is still an active part of Son Mayol’s business. Upon entering the bodega, every visitor is eyed up by the animals in minute detail. The cattle are not fussy eaters either, and here and there manage to feast themselves upon the sweet grapes. Another ‘important’ role at Son Mayol is fulfilled by four-legged friends. They appear on the bottles’ labels as upholders of the bottling process: The dogs Luna, Lena and Linda, for example, were responsible for the 2016 vintage. How refreshingly likeable for a bodega that is one of Spain's top wineries! 

Producer

Azienda Agricola Il Paratino

Azienda Agricola Il Paratino

Read more
Azienda Agricola Pratello

Azienda Agricola Pratello

In Padenghe sul Garda, a small medieval village at the south-western end of Lake Garda, lies the traditional but also progressive Azienda Agricola Pratello.

Read more
Château Biac

Château Biac

Sometimes life is full of surprises. The Lebanese Asseily family experienced this first-hand when they became the owners of Château Biac as if by accident in 2006. They regularly spent their summer holidays near Biac, but never would they have dreamt that they would own and manage this wonderful property themselves one day. It’s a fascinating story that Tony and Youmna Asseily are happy to share over a glass of their wine.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

Son Mayol

Nicht weit von der quirligen Stadt Palma entfernt liegt diese neue Bodega, die ganz neue Massstäbe auf Mallorca setzt.

Der raffiniert schlichte Bau fügt sich harmonisch in die sanft hügelige Landschaft ein. In der Ferne erkennt man die Hauptstadt und bei klarer Sicht sogar die weltberühmte gotische Kathedrale aus golden leuchtendem Sandstein. Die Ausstattung wurde nach modernsten Erkenntnissen gewählt und lässt keine Wünsche offen. Die notwendige Energie wird mittels Solarzellen gewonnen, der gesamte Wasserverbrauch wird kontrolliert gereinigt und wieder in den Kreislauf eingespeist. Dies ist umso wichtiger, als Mallorca seit Jahren unter Wassermangel leidet.

Die ersten Reben wurden 2007/2008 angepflanzt. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc und Petit Verdot – die klassischen Bordeauxsorten – verteilen sich auf 35 verschiedene Parzellen und belegen insgesamt rund 20 Hektaren. Im warmen mediterranen Klima Mallorcas sind die leicht erhöhte Lage und die unterschiedliche Ausrichtung der einzelnen Weingärten ein Vorteil, um elegante, langlebige Weine zu keltern. Für die Pflege werden unter grösster Sorgfalt biologische und auch biodynamische Methoden angewendet.

Der erste kommerzialisierte Jahrgang unter eigenem Namen entstand 2014. Der Weinmacher war niemand Geringerer als Patrick Léon, ehemaliger Önologe von Château Mouton-Rothschild während 20 Jahren und Berater für angesehenste Weingüter der Welt wie Opus One oder Almaviva. Leider verstarb er Ende 2018. Sein Vermächtnis führten einige Jahre Marie Barbé, die an seiner Seite tätig gewesen war, und sein Sohn Patrick fort. Heute zeichnet Leo Borsi für die unbestrittenen Spitzenweine verantwortlich. 

Die Trauben der verschiedenen Parzellen werden separat vinifiziert. Je nach Charakteristik der Jungweine werden sie zum Grand Vin oder zum Premier Vin assembliert und unterschiedlich lang in Barriques ausgebaut. Der Grand Vin ist der Klassiker, der sich durch seine imposante Struktur, seine Komplexität und sein grosses Lagerpotential auszeichnet. Der Premier Vin gefällt durch seine ausgeprägte Frucht und seine leichtere Tannin- und Körperstruktur.

Das Logo von Son Mayol zeigt den Kopf eines Angus-Rindes. Mit der Rinderzucht hat alles angefangen. Die Herstellung von Fleisch allerbester Qualität nach ökologischen Gesichtspunkten ist nach wie vor ein aktiver Geschäftszweig von Son Mayol. Am Eingang zur Bodega beäugen die Tiere jeden Besucher aufs Genaueste. Sie sind keine Kostverächter und schaffen es hie und da, sich an den süssen Trauben gütlich zu tun. Andere Vierbeiner spielen auf Son Mayol eine weitere „wichtige“ Rolle. Sie erscheinen auf der Flaschenetikette als Hüter der Abfüllung: Die Hunde Luna, Lena und Linda zum Beispiel waren für den Jahrgang 2016 zuständig. Wie erfrischend sympathisch für eine Bodega, die zu den spanischen Spitzenweingütern gehört!

 

 

Winzer

Casa Lupo by Paladin

Casa Lupo by Paladin

Casa Lupo ist die Valpolicella “Dépendance” der Familie Paladin und besteht aus 25 Hektaren verteilt zwischen den Städtchen Negrar und Illasi in der Provinz von Verona.

Mehr anzeigen
Dr. Bürklin-Wolf / Fam. Bürklin

Dr. Bürklin-Wolf / Fam. Bürklin

Die Pfalz wird gerne die „deutsche Toskana“ genannt und das nicht zu Unrecht. Schon die Römer fühlten sich hier sehr wohl und an die Heimat erinnert. Im Schutz des Pfälzerwaldes herrscht ein mildes Klima, welches Mandel- und Feigenbäume, Pinien und Zypressen wachsen lässt und der Landschaft ein südländisches Flair verleiht.

Mehr anzeigen
Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

Er wollte es der ganzen Welt beweisen, dass er den besten Weisswein Spaniens keltern kann – und er tat es!

Mehr anzeigen